How to Survive Complete Loss of Power… “Recharged”

(To go to the beginning of this story, please click here.)

The next morning, we somehow pulled it together to go to church….

We felt soothed to be with our church family, even though I didn’t know if any of us had matching shoes, or how we smelled (deodorant, anyone?). When our pastor said in his usual jovial voice after Divine Liturgy, “and you are all welcome downstairs for coffee and donuts,” all I heard in my head was “you are all welcome downstairs for electricity!”

It was a bright and sunny day, and we lingered among our friends and soaked in the familiar yet astounding beauty of the church, the perpetual kindness of the people, and the feeling of some sense of normalcy in our life. Community is so life-giving. Even though most in the community hadn’t even found out about our particular situation yet, we just felt good to be sitting among them. Others told of their own struggles and asked for prayers for different reasons, and this was a reminder to me that we are all struggling in some way, even if some days are better than others, and even if we keep our struggles shared privately or among our closest friends or even to ourselves.

After we returned to our own town, we stopped by an Ace Hardware in a neighboring town and used what little money we had to purchase their smallest generator. I don’t usually plug companies, but this little one in Amish country has a manager who is an inspirational and respectful gentleman, and the small weekend team who works with him are the same way. These are good people.

When we plugged in the generator, after almost three days without power, the feeling of victory was astounding. It brought out my inner Italian…. I had a “YEAH!!! Take THAT!!” feeling about the situation, a feeling that the poor weren’t altogether helpless when we band together. I felt like that young teen I used to be, ready to take on the world, and determined to not let “them” get to me…. all those naysayers and “you’re just gunna fail” people. Take THAT!!!

We were giddy when we turned on a light. Yes “a as in “one” light… 🙂 and the giddiness increased as we turned on a fan and when we turned on the wifi. We plugged in a TV and we plugged in our phones. We still had no running water yet (only bottled water gallons for ourselves and our pets), but we would have to wait for Monday to sort that out, so for now, we watched some Steve Harvey (Little Big Shots) on YouTube and laughed. It felt good to laugh and to feel a small victory…. for me, comedy is a natural anti-depressant. Sometimes, when times are tough, we need comedians. Laughter can, at least briefly, pull us out of our current state where we are focused only on our troubles, and laughter is good for the heart.

The next day was The Day That We Might Get Power Back On.

Of course, it started with the same big company shenanigans of different customer service people saying different things… they “couldn’t take a check, well, not in person,” even though they said they could on Friday…. they couldn’t take a check made out to their own company…. they couldn’t…. after the 17th cold “I’m sorry, ma’am,” I just got off the phone. God was present through all of the situation, yes, but my irritation at the irrationality of too big a company who didn’t seem to have their ducks in a row had finally gotten to me. I didn’t want to speak to anymore automated systems that said “I’m sorry, I didn’t quite get that” in their male android voice. And when I gave the last four of my social and translated it for the Android Voice into a four letter word for “it,” with my teen snickering in the next room, I knew it was time to put the phone down.

We had already made the payment the best we could, and I had had enough. So we waited, while I had visions of Sugar Plum Fairy Huge Generators in my head so that I never needed to speak to this “monopoly” again.

That afternoon, there was a knock at the door. A gentleman had returned from the company…. but he looked different to me, so I asked, “are you the same guy who came out Friday?” He said yes….. he had more gear on and extra protective glasses over his eyes, but I recognized the same shiny SUV.

What was different was his smile.

I had thought over the weekend, oh I can’t WAIT to report this dude and the company… I can’t WAIT to contact the press…..

He gently asked, “Are you going to be ok? Is everything ok?”

I stopped in my tracks as he turned the power back on in a minute or less. I told him, “yes… but it’s been quite a weekend… quite a challenge…. I tried to pay them Friday but they wouldn’t take the payment and…” (I rehashed the story to him.) I saw him roll his eyes beneath his protective eyewear as he said, “well, they should have been able to take that check…. always get paper bills because the electronic stuff is a mess and has no guarantee…”

I randomly told him how somehow God had been looking out for us this weekend (not expecting him to respond about that “God stuff,”)…. and he agreed, and I could see now that he was a man of faith. Then, he said something I had never heard before. He said that the original Jewish language has no word for “coincidence.” And at that moment the bells across the street rang, and he gestured to them.  He told me he doesn’t read as much scripture as he wishes he could and that he’s not perfect and he’s no saint or anything…. and I told him: Goodness, I’m the same way.

And as he was getting into his car, he told me he had been praying for us all weekend.

I wanted to cry, but I didn’t, and I said with all my heart, “may God bless you.” And I promised I would pray for him, and he promised the same….

I didn’t expect that ending. It was like it was all meant to be (even though we still need to find out where the mysterious bill came from.) I imagine he has a job where he is commanded to do these difficult things because his company told him to (if he still wants a job), kind of like those people who have to carry out an awful duty of removing a family from a home that has foreclosed; and inside their heart is breaking, but they and their children need to eat, too. My personal opinion is that the people in the higher ranks should carry out this dirty work, so that they can see a face (or the many faces) behind that “unpaid bill.”

Perhaps there are some huge companies who really do care. I believe those are the ones who will last through the end, because people will feel loyalty toward them…… who knows….

At any rate, I lost power, alright. But I never had it anyway.

God does.

 

All my love,

shalimamma

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “How to Survive Complete Loss of Power… “Recharged”

  1. Shalimar…this story hit me and I remembered many years ago, when you were going to move your family out on land and I gave a harsh warning about doing that and later found out that it wasn’t a “want to” thing for you but a “have to” and I felt very badly that I had been so harsh with my words and I remember apologizing for that. The reason I had given such a stiff warning was because we had lived out on land for many years and I knew how difficult it truly was. When I first moved to Colorado and started having children we lived out on land where our power was out most of the time (no billing problems just bad service out in the middle of no where!) I had a tv that only received 2 channels, no internet, no cell phones and a party line…many may not even know what that is so I’ll explain. Years ago most rural people had party lines and they were still in existence in Colorado in 1988! There were 3 parties on our line and each one of us had to wait for the rings because we each had a “code” of how many rings would be our line. Often, kids from one of the parties would knock the phone off the hook and we would not be able to get through…not even for an emergency!! Many times when my kids were babies and sick…most usually in bad weather of 20 below or blizzards, I had to leave my babies alone while I walked in the blizzard to our nearest neighbor a mile away to use their phone. Did I have a vehicle? Yes, but in that weather, they wouldn’t start.

    I couldn’t afford the propane, so I used a wood stove to heat the house and cook on when the electricity went off, which it did regularly and for days/weeks at a time. We had a well and luckily, a cistern where I had to go down and dip water out to use when we had no electricity. We kept kerosene lanterns and candles because we couldn’t afford flashlights and batteries. Then, on top of all of this, our well went dry and we had to have water hauled in. Many times I had to make the choice of washing dishes, cleaning dirty diapers, washing clothes or flushing the toilet! My husband grew up in the mountains in Colorado in a cabin in the woods with only wood heat and to cook with, no electricity or phone. They had an outhouse because there was only a hand pump for water in the kitchen. They were very poor. So, Thank God for him and his wisdom in this sort of thing.

    Recently in our house remodel, Kelly took some Kerosene lanterns from Walmart (they are $6 each) and wired them for electric, for our western room…it brought back good memories of hard times. Glad y’all are safe and have lights. If you ever get in that situation again…get kerosene lanterns…much cheaper! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a beautiful comment, Elvira! Wow!!!!! Yes, the first six months that we moved to the country, we needed to, and after that is when we chose to move to the 80 acre farm… that’s where we had our dairy, etc … we loved it!! We didn’t encounter the same issues often out on the prairie, except once or twice during a blizzard .. yes! You are so right that living out on the land made us more “tough” and not as dependent on everything working all the time… lol! Suffering does make us stronger! For me it’s easier to say when it’s over lol!!!!!! Thank you for commenting!! ❤️

      Like

  2. Great story! We have a large family too, although I am at the tail end of the brood at home instead of the whole herd there. Every day is an adventure. Every day is memory! Thank you for such a wonderful piece of writing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Exactly, it’s easier to look back on those hard times! Not so easy when traveling through them! Yes, I remember those days…everyone was moving out on land…it was almost like a Catholic Exodus and everyone was learning the ropes. Most have left that life of learning and experiment. We are still at it, 30yrs. later!! We are running Black Angus occasionally breeding in Herefords to make Baldies for hybrid vigor and mostly Arabian horses, but we don’t “own” a lot of land, most Stock Ranches (beef cattle) lease land…unless you are literally “Grandfathered in” LOL…with paid off family land.

    I learned the hard way through working with bulls (as the song says, “If you play with the bull, watch out for the horns), that you don’t wear skirts near the bull pen while repairing fencing! If you have to jump…you might die! Working with rodeos and livestock gives one another level of appreciation for those who live a “tough” life! Driving a Stock Trailer up and down mountain roads with a load of livestock, where most are going off the road in snow and ice without hauling anything…yep…that makes you tough, alright! 😉 Bet you can appreciate that! Sooo glad I am living in Texas now. A lot less colic in our horses too, with less cold! Folks here in our area have no idea what a blizzard is like and how hard it is to chase cattle and horses in a bad blizzard. Oh, and then, there was the kitty kitty as I call it…we had a resident mountain lion in our back pasture in Colorado! I kept my 16 gage at the backdoor! Oh and hey…I finally got my all time favorite…a 45 Lever Action Rifle…I used to love to watch the Rifleman as a kid and now I can shoot just like him!

    Thank you…I like that when hubby wired those lanterns…he put a dimmer switch on them. So, I not only have full light in my Great Room…but also can dim them down which makes the room look like a western town with real lanterns! It works great for when we have our re-enactor friends over! Several of them have been on movies so we all really “get into it”. Can’t wait for Pioneer Days at the Chisholm Trail Outdoor Museum, we all perform there and have a great time. We bought a Surrey (horse drawn wagon) from one of our re-enactor friends and hope to get a team ready to pull it soon! We belong to 3 rodeo families, up in Colorado…the Elizabeth Stampede & Cowboy Up in Kiowa and here in Texas…Johnson County Sheriff’s Posse. We have even been asked to join in up at the Cheyenne Wyoming rodeo…but need to “try” to keep focused. We have sure been blessed meeting so many great folks!

    Y’all take care now!
    Elvira

    Like

Please share your thoughts!

