Life Unexpected – Part I

 

imageIt was a crisp Colorado morning in January…

And when I say “crisp,” I mean a “crisp” -10 degrees.  Nevertheless, the sky was clear, and the sun was bright and beautiful, which is typical of living on the east side of the Front Range of the Rocky Mountains.

Our beloved small group of farm animals were still keeping warm within the barn, or beginning to stir outside the barn, and as for myself, I had awakened with hope.  While I knew I had miscarried a baby in December, the baby still hadn’t ‘passed’, and my stomach was continuing to grow.  My pregnancy hormone levels also continued to rise… Was it possible that there had been a twin in there?

This thought had kept hope alive for me, and had also kept me from getting a D&C as quickly as I could have.  By now I was at least 3 months along, and I didn’t want to take the chance of having “everything removed” if perhaps there was a new little one still in there.

I was still bleeding lightly each day, and my nausea was off the charts… My emotions were jumbled, as I didn’t know if I was supposed to be grieving death or expecting life… But this was January.  A new year.  And certainly, after all the challenges we encountered the year before, this year was going to be different. I just knew that something awesome was “right around the corner”… That God had a surprise up His sleeve… That there would be miracles and healing.  After all, the bright morning sun and the joyfully clucking hens outside told me so.

There was a knock at the front door.  Who could it be, this early on a Saturday morning?  I (rather unsuccessfully) shook myself out of my nauseated state and forced myself to go downstairs and answer it…

There, on my front door step, stood two police officers…

(…to be continued)

 

 

6 thoughts on “Life Unexpected – Part I

Please share your thoughts!

