A Hard Battle Part I

I picked the title of this page because of a phrase that has sort of shaped my life.

In highschool during my senior year, we had to pick a ‘favorite life phrase’ to go along with our senior picture in the yearbook.  (NOTE: you will not see my senior picture on this website in the interest of protecting your eyes from the height of my 90’s hair at the time.)

My phrase was this: “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.”

I think that phrase has always resonated with me because as a young child, I began suffering at the hands of others at an early age.  I knew I was loved by my parents, and had a strong-willed personality, but I felt as if people were so distracted by outward appearances that they could not see who I was inside, and were not kind by any stretch.

I remember first being aware that I was different, and that I had a cross to bear, when I was in 2nd grade.  It was only the beginning…

…to be continued…

Please share your thoughts!

